Seeking perfection since… I forget when

Jellyneo ’10 Negg Hunt


Jellyneo 2010 Negg Hunt LogoThe third (annual?) hunt has ended, the Content Beast is livid (he really didn’t like all of you escaping him) and the results are being tabulated by the highly trained team of CLASSIFIED INFORMATION.

Kata asks that you don’t try to use the flash portals if you still have access, it is just generating errors since all the logs were made read only.

I’m forbidden to give you actual answers or numbers, those will be released in a day or two. I shouldn’t get killed for telling you that from the time the last portal was released until a few hours before the end the limiting factor on the number who had completed it was my clue. I take it you are not surprised.

Those of you that did crack it, and worked out where it lead, will know it was hiding a new negg, a very special one. When were were making the clues I decided it would be rather deadly to me if I made a code only to have it turn out to be a red herring. I have managed to obtain an image of the negg, unfortunately it is a very low resolution because someone didn’t know digital zoom is very different to optical zoom.

Hidden Negg @ distanceWe should know what it is once the answers are out, and where it was. But of course to get it you had to find the clue, so where was that? You’ll have to wait for that too if you didn’t find it. And you will have to wait on the decoded version of the message. However, for those that know how to use it, I will give you the formula. Incidnetally, if anyone found my Codebreaking 101 post from last year, Frequency Analysis was completely useless this time, the block length was too short.

encrypt formula (in OpenOffice Formula)If you don’t get what they mean:

alpabetIndex(x) means, alphabetIndex(D) = 4 and alphabetIndex(M) = 13

wordIndex(x) means in the word Jellyneo, wordIndex(J) = 1 and wordIndex(Y) = 5

When I coded the clue I used positive and negative results of f(x) rather than looping it. So remember that 5 – (-5) = 5 + 5

Comments on: "Jellyneo ’10 Negg Hunt" (4)

  1. This was the third hunt😉 2007, 2009, 2010.

  2. JohnPaul said:

    I solved your clue and found your negg.😀

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

